Old Girls in Low Cotton by Helen Childress (4 stars)

The only thing keeping me from giving this book 5 stars is the abrupt ending. I loved this book and would highly recommend it to anyone who loves books with spunky characters who have strong southern influences. That may sound a little too specific, but I count myself in the group of people who enjoy exactly that. Throw in small town mentality (which may sound like an insult but it is not meant as such) and I am in book heaven.

I am an eclectic reader and enjoy reading more than one book at a time. I never know when a book will get slow, so it’s nice to move around and keep with the action amongst other books so that I want a break with a book that has become slow.

I told you that for a reason. This book made me forsake all other books until I saw it through. Which is exactly why when it abruptly ended I was a little forlorn. I felt like I was in my bestfriends kitchen sipping on a nice hot cup of coffee and hearing the latest gossip and suddenly was asked to leave, before the steam had even cooled!

Even with the abrupt ending I simply loved this book and really hope this author writes more so I can recapture that wonderful feeling of being home. There really is no comparison to that when you find an author that pulls you in so completely.

This book isn’t for everyone, but if you are intrigued by my review, then you should check it out. If nothing else it’s really good for a laugh. It gets going and you have to shake your head and giggle, all the while guilty loving it for all that it is, just plain fun.

I learned after writing this that “Kindle Singles” seem to be consistent in the theme of being short and over before the story fully gets going. I don’t like it, but it doesn’t make the quality of the writing that is included any less. The only reason I don’t like it is I so enjoyed myself and wanted to read more. That’s a pretty good thing to hear about a story.

image

Leave a comment

September 6, 2014 · 7:56 pm

Leave a Reply

