Milk-Blood by Mark Mathews (4 stars)

A free copy of this book was provided in exchange for my honest review.

I can imagine that this book would possibly not be as entertaining to someone who lives in and is one with the ghetto. I live in what is pretty close to a ghetto, but I am far from being able to call myself part of it. I am not sure if that is something anyone would want to be able to do or not, but it is what it is. That being said, I live my life seeing things without being on the inside.

Reading this novel took me to the inside, all the way into the head of what may or may not be an imaginary child. Some details may have been changed to protect the innocent, but the effect of the story being believable to a fault is there. It’s not a perfect tale but it is by far a very entertaining one.

I could speculate with you on if any of it was supposed to a metaphor for something else, or what was really intended to be conveyed… But in the end what really matters is this was enjoyable to read regardless of the intent.

I can’t get through the beginning scenes of Trainspotting, but with this book I was so enraptured in what it could possibly be like to be addicted to Heroine that I couldn’t stop reading. I don’t plan on finding out what this is really like, ever, so this was a safe and intriguing way to learn more. It could be way off base, but I didn’t care, the writing was solid and enjoyable. If you can get into a story regardless of where it’s going simply because it is a pleasure to read, then why not?

I cared what was going to happen, I was sucked in and buttered up for the punch. I absolutely love reading a story that I can do nothing but keep reading in order to find out what happens next. There is little foreshadowing to prepare you for what will happen which for some might be maddening, but for more is just fine.

The story follows the birth and life of a poor ghetto child. It explores what it can be like to really know how to just barely get by. That was upsetting for me, but not completely foreign. It also added a good element of psychological horror. The reason being is it is so easy to understand how things can turn into a cluster when you are already starting from rock bottom.

It is violent, gruesome, imaginative and awesome. Not entirely sane, but that is not a requirement for entertainment. I really don’t want to spoil any of the twists and turns. Either you are already intrigued and are going to find this book and read it, or my review gave enough info to advise you to pass it up. To each their own.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

