Vampire World by Rich Douglas (3.5 stars)

I received a free copy of Vampire World from the author Rich Douglas in exchange for an honest review.

This book is perfectly set as young adult. For some reason I didn’t realize it was going to be young adult based on the cover art or the description. That’s what I get for judging a book by its cover! There are two covers available that I could see. One looks like a book about bondage that might rival 50 shades of grey. Not because the model is tied up, but because she is gothed out and has a look like she wants to devour your soul while mating with you. (Intense and not ya at all, I recommend against this version just for the picture. It’s hot, but out of place.)

The other cover is of a pretty young girl who looks to be in a old style church or crypt. This picture embodies the story well. It captures the sweet (not overly in your face sexy) side of goth. It fits well with the story that is told.

The author came up with some disgustingly creative food that was believable for a vampire diet. Although I think adding an element of hunting and eating live food would have been a nice addition to the story.

This book read like a nancy drew mystery that had some elements of inspector gadget. What I mean by that is the mystery of the unknown with dark passage ways and hidden dangers and secret messages I expected to have the disclaimer of “this message will self-destruct in 4 seconds…”

I struggled with the length, but it was obvious that a lot of effort was put into describing life as it is lived in Vampire World. I didn’t like the cliche of the last names used (I.e. Mr. FangCut or Mrs. BiteMore) but it is young adult so that comes with the territory.I am torn as to if I would read more books in this series, if it does progress to a series.

The main character overshadowed the other characters and although I really wanted to like her I didn’t. It’s not because she wasn’t a believable character, on the contrary she was absolutely believable as the type of girl I would not be friends with. I really didn’t like her name and that spoiled her a little for me.

Names say a lot about the person who gave the name. Janice is a very old style name that isn’t used as often anymore. At least in my opinion. It’s not quite as outdated as Myrtle or Harriet, or god forbid Beatrice, but it’s just unpopular enough to sound out of place.

That being said she was a very good living breathing (so to speak) model of a popular chick figuring out how life works. Not too bright, but just smart enough to cause trouble. Especially when it comes to using herself to get what she wants. Having that kind of power and first learning you have it is intoxicating. This book explores that well. It still keeps the subject matter pg enough that I wouldn’t feel like a perv recommending this book to an actual young adult.

The good part is that although I didn’t like the main character I did like the attempt to take a vampire story down a different path of possibility. I cared to find out what the mystery was, even though I was pretty sure I knew the answer. I knew some of it, but some was entertainingly different than I expected.

Talk a walk on the wild side and see what you think of this homage of how vampire life could be now or in the not so distant future. That is if you believe in Vampires. I don’t, but I am still fascinated by the idea of the weird and supernatural.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

