Zombie Attack Rise of the Horde (3.5 Stars)

I receive a free copy for review from the author Devan Sagliani. The opinions below are my own. There are spoilers so if you enjoy not knowing what will happen next, read the book and not my review.

This was very well written. I suspect the author is from my generation, or close enough for government work, because I caught and understood all of the references to pop culture. This is somewhat of a rarity for me and always fills me with joy, like I’ve been let in on an inside joke.

I gave this a 3.5 because horror books, zombie or otherwise, rarely are something I would pick up to read again. Once you know all the main plot points it’s hard to feel that same rush you do when reading a book for the first time. However, it was very enjoyable and my only complaints are very, very minor. It’s laughable really that I didn’t realize that two of the main characters never had weapons but managed to escape unscathed. Once I realized this I was a little miffed, but honestly it didn’t detract from the story.

The action scenes were written clearly enough that I didn’t have to read and re-read and pause and re-read and mull over what just happened. I can’t tell you enough how annoying it is to know that a writer can’t see the action in their head and therefore the choreography of their fight scenes are muddled and confusing. Thankfully, as I said, this was not a problem in this book and the action was heart pumping and exciting, just as it should be!

This wasn’t a new twist on an old story per se in that the zombies were different, but there are some interesting twists. From a big fan of zombie books that don’t make you want to shake your head in disgust, I recommend picking up this fast paced thriller.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

