Healer of Carthage by Lynne Gentry (4.5/5 Stars)

The only reason I deducted half a star is because there were some inconsistencies with the characters. One character lost their lisp for a short period of time. Other characters used slang that just felt unauthentic. Those errors aside I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

A book that was not written half as well would have lost me because of the minor errors, but given the strength of the writing I was unable to be deterred. Not that I wanted a reason to give up, quite the contrary. I was hooked from the beginning. The lead character Lisbeth starts out feeling completely lost in her own life and throughout her journey finds her direction as well as her faith.

I enjoyed that there was a romance that was sweet and steamy without having to completely lay bare the details. It didn’t detract from the story or take it over. Instead it naturally helped move the action forward.

If you enjoy books with medical drama this is a interesting twist with having current medical knowledge but without access to current medical conveniences. I don’t want to spoil the enjoyment to be found in how the characters overcame this obstacle. Each time a new need was presented I had no choice but to read and see where the author would go with it. The change in setting stopped me from being able to guess, or even try to guess, what would happen next. This was a really nice change of pace for me. I don’t like when I start a book and the answer to all the problems are immediately apparent. It really drags away from the wonder that should be found in storytelling. This story captures that need many of us have to be captivated and entertained.

However, the story isn’t just filled with scenes from the ER, which would not be enough to show us who the characters are and why we should care about them. The author does a great job of showing us the human side in each character so that we can judge for ourselves who we want to see succeed and those who we wish were not standing in the way. Without adversity we cannot triumph in the victory of overcoming it.

If you want to be swept up in a story that will have you laughing, crying, rejoicing, and rallying to the end this is a good fit.

I received a free copy of this book from Howard Books in exchange for an honest review. These opinions are my own.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

