Between, Georgia (4 Stars)

I am an absolute sucker for a small town novel. This novel throws in the south, drama and a mysterious Johnny Depp look alike. I felt like it was an early Christmas! I was born in a small town and although I know financially a small town is death, I would move in a heartbeat if I had a job that I could “take” with me. I think that is why I love reading about small towns. I am also drawn to places that are not like where I am from. The south is very strange, dark, and mysterious, and therefore completely irresistible to me. This novel was a delight. I only gave it 4 stars because at a few points the story was not consistent and I could not tell who was telling the story. Even with those inconsistencies it was written well enough that I was able to keep reading. My tolerance for bad writing is pretty low. That being said, the fact that I was able to finish the book without years between readings hoping the writing will magically get better, is saying something. This book had enough romance and drama going on that it kept a pretty good pace. Nonny was pretty neurotic, but her voice was so enjoyable that the neurotic worked. The most beautiful relationships working throughout the book is the love a mother has for her child. Keep in mind you don’t have to give birth to a child to love them with your heart and soul and to be their mother. This book has some interesting connections that make for good train wreck drama. I definitely plan on checking out more of Joshilyn Jackson’s work – hopefully it will be just as enjoyable as it was in Between, Georgia.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

