Once Upon a Time (3 stars)

This book was not at all what I expected. That is not entirely bad or entirely good. Books reach out to each of us in a different way. I have for many years now struggled with accepting or not accepting Christianity. I did not expect in the least when I requested to review this book that I would be walked through some of the very stories that give me pause in my acceptance of Christianity. The thought of someone being able to part the sea, walk through it, and drop it is one of the many stories that I can’t suspend my belief in how the natural world works and believe at face value. Although I feel misgivings for not being able to wholeheartedly embrace everything about Christianity I know that for this reason I cannot. However, even coming from a place such as I am that I was not looking to be schooled on the inspirational messages contained in the Bible I still kept reading and was of course unable to part from the book without feeling richer for having read it. Debbie does not just throw out versus from the Bible and examples from her life leaving the book feeling like Sunday school gone wrong. She expertly weaves in quotes and examples from a great many people’s lives. One of which that made me pause in my reading was Mother Theresa. I don’t want to spoil what was said, so you will have to read the book to see what amongst the myriad of thought provoking tidbits stand out to you. Christian or not this book is a great journey on how to start teasing out the creative energy we all have inside of us. That’s right, every one of us!

I received a free copy of this book from Howard Books in exchange for an honest review. These opinions are my own.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

