Sleeping in Eden (4 stars)

Although this book is not very large and is fast paced it took me longer to read than I anticipated. I instantly loved the characters and was invested in solving the mystery that was unfolding before me, but I had to take breaks from the story. It was not because it was boring or I was not interested, but rather because I was trapped between the two stories that were rushing to converge. I knew what was coming, but not how. I read the last half in two days because I knew if I didn’t just absorb it at once I might never have the courage to keep reading. That sounds terrible, but if you are a fan of murder mysteries then you probably understand the dance that is played when you read one. It’s not enough to blaze through them. Little clues and bits must be tasted, prodded, and marveled on as you go. Some of the clues are important to revealing the story, and some of them just stand out because they spark a memory from your own life. What I find so interesting is how multiple people can read the same story and different things stood out as important to them. This story was painful to read, but it was written beautifully and the ending was bittersweet. I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good mystery that also builds in growth of all of the main characters. It isn’t just cut and dry. It takes twists and turns and very aptly shows how life almost never goes the way you want it to, but that isn’t always a bad thing. I would have liked a little more resolution for Angela, but only so much can be written in one book.

I received a free copy of this book from Howard Books in exchange for an honest review. These opinions are my own.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

