Moonlight on Linoleum: A Daughter’s Memoir (4 Stars)

This book was a wonderful and terrible journey. It is so easy to be lost in our own lives and to never really know the in’s and out’s of anyone else’s lives. Not because we don’t ask, but because it takes years to gain the trust and comfort between yourself and another to tell the whole story and not leave anything out. For this reason memoirs can be at once like talking and sharing with an old and dear friend and this one did not disappoint.

From beginning to end I was on the edge of my seat and so emotionally involved in the story that I had to set it down only to return again as if I had never left.

Of all the things that happened in this book I think the most lingering was the bond forged between sisters, friends, and honorary sisters. Terry didn’t have to be as responsible as she turned out to be. However, were I in her place I can’t imagine doing any less.

I have known poverty and heartache but also know that the journey is a little less hard when there is someone along for the ride. I recommend checking this one out, but be prepared to step into a world that will cling to you like dew on grass. It will stir you to rally and cry along the way.

I received a free copy of this book from Howard Books for my honest review. The opinions expressed here are my own.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

