A Stranger’s Gift (4 stars)

There is an interesting way that this book entered my life. I was browsing for a book at my local used book store when an author came in to talk to the clerk. He described the book he wrote as a journey of faith and hearing other people’s take on faith. I was intrigued but too shy to ask what his name was or what the name of the book was, after all he came to talk to the clerk and not to me. Later that week I got an email with A Stranger’s Gift by Tom Hallman, Jr. as a choice to review. I knew this was a book I needed to read because the nagging feeling that I wanted to read the book from the moment I heard of something like it having been written. I come from a Christian family but struggle with identifying myself with any religion. This book helped me see what should have been already easy to see but wasn’t – everyone struggles with faith. I never gave a moments thought to pastors or other people who have chosen religion as a life calling to have anything but unwavering faith. It makes sense though that I would not be alone in wanting something to believe but not being sure that I’m taking the right path for me. I still wholeheartedly believe that everyone has a path and it should be theirs to find and walk, but it doesn’t mean they have to be alone on that journey. It’s not a book of answers, but more a quest for understanding and a realization that the quest may never end. Although that still leaves me not quite feeling like I know where I’m going I do feel better knowing that a lot of other people may feel exactly like I do. It’s easy to feel lost if you don’t know where to start looking. What I gained from this book is that as long as I keep looking, and not just with my eyes, I can’t help but see the path to follow. It is weird how life sometimes sends you answers to questions you don’t realize you need to ask.

I received a free copy of this book from Howard Books for my honest review. The opinions expressed here are my own.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

